15 Lessons From My 2018 in Retrospect

MARY ABIODUN
2 min readJan 1, 2019

--

Photo by Christopher Sardegna on Unsplash

At the end of every year, it is good to take stocks for proper evaluation of how that year has been. A lot of friends have been writing a review of the year 2018 but in my own case, I decided to do something different.

I believe there are lessons to be learnt from my experiences in 2018 and after looking at my book which I call “Memorials”, I have the following lessons to share. I would have loved to share one or two instances in my life where these lessons played out but because I don’t want to bore you with too many stories, I have decided to write something concise and something you can learn from which I tag “I5 Lessons From My 2018 in Retrospect.

1. In 2018, I learnt to be more professional. Being a professional sometimes require that you go out of your way to do work in spite of difficulty.

2. Don’t be afraid to let people know what you do. They just might have an opportunity for you.

3. What doesn’t kill you will only make you stronger.

4. You will get really overwhelmed and you will get really down but trust in God and good friends to bring you up again and to see you through difficult times.

5. When ideas and inspiration come, write them down and determine to act on them.

6. In a bid to explore, you can get lost. Find the one who knows the route.

7. Never underrate your abilities. If you know your worth, you will not settle for less.

8. Sometimes, all you need is someone that has been there before to hold your hands instead of wasting time trying to figure out things yourself.

9. Not asking for help is another form of pride. Ask shamelessly.

10. Share your ideas. No one can steal them. Even if they are stolen, no one can add a touch to them like you would do.

11. When you lower standards, quality is tampered with.

12. Don’t be selfish. Letting go might be hard but do it for a cause you believe in when you have to.

13. Praise is the best medicine for helplessness.

14. Keep learning. You never know when your opportunity will come.

15. You are stronger than you think you are.

If any of these lessons resonated with you one way or the other, please drop a comment in the comment section and let me know what you think. I will like to hear from you.

Happy new year!

--

--

MARY ABIODUN

Techie. Writer. Mentor. Teacher. Editor. Entrepreneur. Growth Marketing