7 Things I Appreciate 2022 for

MARY ABIODUN
4 min readJan 9, 2023

--

Photo by Benjamin Combs on Unsplash

2022 was what it was.

I definitely started my year with tears in the early part of the year because the burden laid on me seemed too much to bear. I received one of the greatest shocks of my life that almost shattered hopes. I had to gather strength to move on to greater things, which I did do.

But this experience leads me to the first thing I’m grateful for in 2022.

  1. God’s help and prayers answered.

The answers to some prayers I prayed in the previous year came through. I wasn’t even expectant. I had moved on and was ready to live life as it comes. But I also enjoyed God’s help because the prayer for help became my anchor prayer for the year. It is also going to continue in 2023 because I will always be in need of His help.

2. The friends who chose to hang out with me.

It’s always a blessing whenever I get the luxury of getting out of my house. This exercise also gives me great ideas as I see the world from a different view every time. Discussions with friends are moments I always cherish because I am able to exercise my brain in intelligent conversations.

3. The gift of patience

Sincerely, patience is a virtue. When you feel there’s a struggle and you’re expending too much energy on something that wouldn’t have wasted your time normally, maybe you should pause and hold on.

When the time is right, the lines will fall into place. God makes all things beautiful in His time. Wait for peace to lead you into the next steps.

4. Those who gave me listening ears

There was a time I just needed someone I could pour my heart to. Interestingly, God led me to a close friend who listened and couldn’t understand how I was able to survive what I was going through at that time. Business can be hard. I had just gone through a painful process of letting go of a business I had been nurturing for about 2 years of my life. That was really painful.

5. The projects and those I got the chance to support

My consult was able to support quite a number of people to study abroad through our various services. Those seeking jobs were not left out as there were trainings, CV reviews, and talks along these lines.

For projects, I had the privilege of serving in some projects, mostly as a volunteer and a planner too. The huge successes of these projects were proofs of God’s faithfulness.

6. The books I read

This is my best part. I tried to read at least one book a month so that I could achieve the goal of reading at least 12 books in the year. But the truth is that I couldn’t read a book in some months and in November, I was able to easily read 4 books.

I channeled my screen time to reading (I was without a smartphone).

I had done this before and you can read about my experience the first time.

Not having a phone can be a blessing. 👇

The list of books I read in 2022:

  • StoryBrand
  • How Rich People Think (Author: Steve Siebold). I wrote about it here.
  • The Psychology of Money by Morgan Housel
  • Grit by Angela Duckworth
  • Drive
  • Born For This (Author: Chris Guillebeau)
  • The $100 Startup (Author: Chris Guillebeau)
  • Our Entrepreneurship Mandate
  • Eureka
  • Small Business Big Money by Akin Alabi
  • How To Sell To Nigerians by Akin Alabi
  • Leaving The Tarmac: Buying a Bank in Africa (By Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede)

Guess what? I still reached the goal of reading 12 books.

I also wrote 12 articles in 2022. Find them all here.

7. The new things I started.

Towards the end of the year, I started learning about growth marketing. I’m still hoping to find a sponsor for this certification course on CXL.

In the meantime, I will keep learning from the mentors who chose to put up a free training at GrowthxSplendid.

Thanks for sharing in my 2022 experiences.

It’s great to have you read this. I wasn’t sure if I should publish this or not but here it is. 😊

Look out for more of my writings here in the new year. Follow and subscribe to be the first to get them when I publish.

Find me on Twitter and LinkedIn. You can say hello when you’re there.

You’ve read about the things I appreciate 2022 for. What are you most grateful for? Share with me in the comments.

--

--

MARY ABIODUN

Techie. Writer. Mentor. Teacher. Editor. Entrepreneur. Growth Marketing