7 Things I’m Grateful For in 2019.

MARY ABIODUN
4 min readJan 1, 2020

--

Photo by Freshh Connection on Unsplash

There are more than seven (7) things I’m grateful for in 2019 but I will like to keep this post as short as possible.

  1. The books I read.

I can’t believe I read about 18 books in 2019. Below are the books I read in 2019:

  • The Good Portion
  • Singles Love, Lust & Infatuation
  • Who Moved My Cheese
  • A book on sexual purity (can’t remember the exact title)
  • Buy The Future
  • Eureka
  • The Good Book
  • Think Like A Man, Act Like A Lady
  • Sacred Search
  • Getting Ready For Marriage
  • Lean Startup
  • Quiet
  • Rework
  • Mavericks At Work
  • What Women Tell Me
  • Hind’s Feet (A powerful novel)
  • How To Make It Big As A Consultant
  • More Than A Job: Your 24/7 Mission (I’m almost done reading this).
A snapshot from the book titled, “Rework”.

2. The articles I wrote & the written works I edited.

You can check out some of the articles I wrote in 2019 on my medium page. As a matter of fact, I started writing officially in 2019 and my first post was, “I5 Lessons From My 2018 in Retrospect”. I posted 18 articles on my medium page in 2019 but I wrote more than 18 of them. I got to write for some startups, and some organizations involved in women development. There were other write-ups that were written too for some other purposes but you might not find them online. One of them is “Lessons From Jacob”. You can ask me personally for it if you’re interested in reading it.

I also edited a lot of written works that people were grateful for as the works got some kind of recognition. I will like to do more of that. Hit me up on Twitter or LinkedIn if you will like to pay me to edit your written works. If your written work is a kind of Corporate Social Responsibility, I will be glad to edit for you for free.

3. My new family at MEST Africa.

It’s been amazing being with this new family of 55 other Africans from 14 African countries. I remembered the times I spent at the hospital this year, they were there for me all through. Different sets of people will show up in the morning, afternoon and evening and they don’t come empty-handed. They came with food and fruits. I came back from the hospital looking so fresh like I’ve been on a vacation. It was all because of this family of MESTers. They are all amazing.

4. The lessons I learnt.

I will be sharing 7 important lessons I learnt in 2019. There are more than seven of them but I see these ones as very important to me:

  • The people you think you need are not the people you need.
  • Never be afraid to try; what others tell you is not as important as what you tell yourself; do one thing that scares you.
  • Never be afraid to let go. Sometimes, the old has to go for the new to come in.
  • Stop comparing your progress with others. Many are heading fast to nowhere.
  • When you get to breaking point, that’s the end of weakness.
  • Never limit the power of God.
  • The money you save will come back to save you. Start saving on Piggyvest.

5. The trainings I organized and was part of.

6. The philanthropic works I did.

7. My relationship with Jesus

I’m super grateful for this relationship because there were many times I cried, times I was confused and didn’t know what to do or who to speak with but this relationship was ever there to quench my fears and to make me know I could go on in the face of challenges. A relationship with Jesus in 2020 might be the greatest investment in 2020 if you are willing to consider it.

And that’s the 7 things I’m grateful for in 2019. I’m sorry I couldn’t expatiate on numbers 5 and 6 but nevertheless, I hope you have picked one or two things from this article.

If there are questions you would like to ask or comments you would like to make, I can’t wait to find them in the comment section. I will be glad to hear from you.

Thank you for reading!

--

--

MARY ABIODUN

Techie. Writer. Mentor. Teacher. Editor. Entrepreneur. Growth Marketing